Library and Archives
Library and Archives

East Europe: Introduction

The East European collection, which includes the three Baltic states, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Albania, and the independent states that formerly comprised Yugoslavia, focuses primarily on events since the beginning of the twentieth century. Its research materials are in the original languages. The emphasis is on primary-source documentation: private papers, diaries, manuscripts, letters, and other special materials. Coverage, which begins around the outbreak of World War I, concentrates on the fields of government and politics, with special attention to national independence movements, the two world wars, Soviet-communist domination, and the struggle for human rights, sovereignty, and democracy.

Maciej Siekierski
senior curator
research fellow

Maciej Siekierski is curator of the European Collections at the Hoover Institution Archives and a research fellow at the Hoover Institution.

Last updated on December 14, 2011
April 4, 2007

East European Collection

this is an image

Click the image to start the slideshow.