About the Contributors

FLOYD ABRAMS is a partner in a law firm and a contributor to the Democratic Party and its candidates.

MICHAEL PATRICK ALLEN is a professor of sociology at Washington State University.

ANNELISE ANDERSON is a senior research fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University. She has written on a variety of public policy issues and is a former associate director of the federal Office of Management and Budget.

MARTIN ANDERSON is a senior fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, and the author of books and articles on public policy. He served as assistant to the president for domestic policy in the first Reagan administration.

TOM BETHELL is a journalist, commentator, and the author of several books, the latest of which is *The Noblest Triumph* (St. Martin's Press).

PHILLIP BROYLES is an assistant professor of sociology and a fellow of the Center for Applied Research and Policy Analysis at Shippensburg University. His research focuses on social and political inequality.

BOBBY R. BURCHFIELD is a partner in the law firm of Covington and Burling.

WARREN BURGER is retired chief justice of the Supreme Court.

JOHN T. DOOLITTLE is a Republican from California and a member of the House of Representatives.

PETE DU PONT is a former governor of Delaware and policy chairman of National Center for Policy Analysis.

WILLIAMSON M. EVERS is a research fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, and teaches political science at Santa Clara University.

RUSSELL D. FEINGOLD is a Democrat from Wisconsin and a member of the Senate.

STEVE FORBES is editor in chief of *Forbes* and was a presidential candidate in the 1996 and 2000 races.

DAVID FRUM is a contributing editor to the Weekly Standard.

MEG GREENFIELD edited the *Washington Post* editorial page for twenty years and was a columnist for *Newsweek*. She died May 13, 1999.

CHARLES KRAUTHAMMER is a columnist for the *Washington Post* and a television commentator. He won the Pulitzer Prize for distinguished commentary in 1987.

DAN MANATT is the assistant editor of the new web site Recent Developments in Campaign Finance Reform.

JOHN MCCAIN is a Republican from Arizona and a member of the Senate.

MITCH MCCONNELL is a Republican from Kentucky and a member of the Senate. He chairs the National Republican Senatorial Committee.

THOMAS E. MANN is a partner in a Washington law firm.

DAVID MASON is a former senior fellow at the Heritage Foundation and currently a member of the Federal Election Commission.

TREVOR POTTER is a partner in a Washington law firm and a former member and chairman of the Federal Election Commission.

JONATHAN RAUCH is a senior writer and columnist for *National Journal* magazine, a weekly on politics and government published in Washing-

About the Contributors

хi

ton, D.C. He is the author of three books—most recently, *Demosclerosis: The Silent Killer of American Government* (1994)—and a graduate of Yale University.

LARRY J. SABATO is a professor of political science at the University of Virginia and the author of several books on the American political process.

ROBERT J. SAMUELSON is a columnist for Newsweek.

BRADLEY A. SMITH is an associate professor at Capital University Law School in Columbus, Ohio, and a graduate of Harvard Law School. He has published numerous scholarly articles on campaign finance reform and election law.

FRANK J. SORAUF is a distinguished political scientist recently retired from the University of Minnesota. He has written widely on the U.S. political system and political campaigns.

DAVID STROTHER is a syndicated columnist and television commentator.