Advancing a Free Society

Hoover Fellows Richard Epstein and Harvey Mansfield announced as Bradley Prize recipients

Friday, April 1, 2011

On Thursday, March 31, 2011, the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation announced that two of the four recipients of the 2011 Bradley Prizes were Hoover fellows Richard Epstein, the Peter and Kirsten Bedford Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution and the Laurence A. Tisch Professor of Law at New York University, andHarvey Mansfield, the Carol G. Simon Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution and the William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Government at Harvard University, where he has taught for more than forty years. The Bradley Prizes, awarded annually, formally recognize individuals for their extraordinary achievements.  Previous recipients have included Hoover fellows John Taylor (2010), Gary Becker (2008),Victor Davis Hanson (2008), Fouad Ajami (2006), Clint Bolick (2006),Shelby Steele (2006), Robert George (2005), and Thomas Sowell(2003).

“I am ever so pleased that the Bradley Foundation has found me fit for the Bradley Prize for the year 2011. It is an especially great pleasure to know that I receive that award in the company of so many eminent Hoover scholars who have already received the scholarship for their immense contribution to so many different fields that exemplifies the best that serious scholarship has to offer,” stated Richard Epstein.