Hoover fellow Edwin Meese III awarded 2012 Bradley Prize

Wednesday, June 6, 2012
Edwin Meese III is a Hoover distinguished visiting fellow.
Image credit: 
Edwin Meese

Edwin Meese III, a distinguished visiting fellow at the Hoover Institution and former US attorney general (February 1985 to August 1988), received one of four 2012 Bradley Prizes from the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation at a ceremony at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC, on Thursday, June 7, 2012.

Meese's acceptance remarks.

The Bradley Prizes, awarded annually, recognize individuals for their extraordinary achievements.  Previous recipients have included Hoover fellows Richard Epstein (2011), Harvey Mansfield (2011), John Taylor (2010), Gary Becker (2008), Victor Davis Hanson (2008), Fouad Ajami (2006), Clint Bolick (2006), Shelby Steele (2006), Robert George (2005), and Thomas Sowell (2003). Each award carries a stipend of $250,000.

Meese is an expert on the US legal system, law enforcement and criminal justice, intelligence and national security, and the Reagan presidency. He served as California governor Ronald Reagan's executive assistant and chief of staff. Meese is a graduate of Yale University (1953) and holds a law degree from the University of California at Berkeley.

“Ed Meese has been an invaluable public servant,” said Michael W. Grebe, Bradley Foundation president and chief executive officer.  “His entire career has involved upholding the rule of law and making the nation more secure.”