Eight Hoover Fellows Appointed to the U.S. Defense Policy Board Advisory Committee

Thursday, November 29, 2001

Eight Hoover Institution fellows have been appointed to the U.S. Defense Policy Board Advisory Committee, which advises national leaders on major matters of defense policy.

The committee addresses long-term, enduring issues central to Department of Defense strategic planning and responds to specific requests from the secretary of defense and other defense officials. Members will review and assess the long-term strategic implications of defense policies in various regions of the world, the policy implications of current and prospective weapons and weapons classes, and the impact of U.S. defense policies on alliance military issues.

The Hoover fellows selected to serve are

  • Richard Allen, former national security adviser
  • Martin Anderson, the Keith and Jan Hurlbut Senior Fellow, longtime policy adviser to presidents and governors
  • Gary S. Becker, the Rose-Marie and Jack R. Anderson Senior Fellow, Nobel laureate in economics
  • Newt Gingrich, former Speaker of the House
  • Henry Rowen, former assistant secretary of defense for international security affairs
  • George P. Shultz, Thomas W. and Susan B. Ford Distinguished Fellow, former U.S. secretary of state
  • Kiron Skinner, the W. Glenn Campbell Research Fellow, assistant professor of history, political science, and public policy, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Pete Wilson, former California governor

They are among 29 newly appointed members.

Richard Perle, former assistant secretary of defense, chairs the committee.

The committee will advise the secretary of defense, the deputy secretary, and the undersecretary of defense for policy.

Members, who are selected because of their distinguished backgrounds in national military affairs, are from the private sector.

The committee meets quarterly, although panels drawn from the board meet at other times to address specific topics presented by the secretary.