Patent Practices and Policy: The Backbone of the Innovation Economy

Thursday, January 11, 2018 to Friday, January 12, 2018
Stanford, CA
IP Squared

Download the agenda as a PDF
Conference presentations

THURSDAY, January 11, 2018
Annenberg Conference Room (Room 105)
Lou Henry Hoover Building, Stanford University

8:30 a.m.Breakfast Buffet

9:00 a.m.Welcome and Introduction: Stephen Haber

9:15 a.m.“Patently Risky: Framing, Innovation and Entrepreneurial Preferences” by Elizabeth Hoffman, David Schwartz, Matthew Spitzer, and Eric Talley
Presenter: Matthew Spitzer
Discussants: Adam Ullman and Seth Werfel
Moderator: Damon Matteo
Complete Paper

10:30 a.m.Break

11:00 a.m.“Space Race Technology and the Impact on Jobs in U.S. Cities” by Shawn Kantor and Alexander Whalley
Presenter: Shawn Kantor
Discussants: Ross Levine and Kirti Gupta
Moderator: Stephen Haber
Complete Paper

12:15 p.m.Lunch
Room 115, Lou Henry Hoover Building

1:15 p.m.“The Demographics of IP” by Richard Sousa
Presenter: Richard Sousa
Discussants: Jonathan Barnett and Irv Rappaport
Moderator: Ben Kwitek
Complete Paper

2:30 p.m.Break

3:00 p.m.“Citation Weighting, Patent Ranking, and Apportionment of Value for Standard- Essential Patents” by Gregory Sidak and Jeremy Skog
Presenters: Jeremy Skog
Discussants: Alexander Galetovic and Kayvan Noroozi
Moderator: Ali Torabi
Complete Paper

4:15 p.m.Daytime sessions close

FRIDAY, January 12, 2018
Annenberg Conference Room (Room 105)
Lou Henry Hoover Building

8:30 a.m.Breakfast Buffet

9:00 a.m. “Patent Litigation, Uncertainty, and Patent Quality” by Alan Marco and Richard Miller
Presenter: Alan Marco
Discussants: Christian Helmers and Ron Laurie
Moderator: Richard Epstein

10:15 a.m.Break

10:45 a.m.“Who Reads Patents?” by Lisa Ouellette
Presenter: Lisa Ouellette
Discussants: Scott Kieff and Naomi Lamoreaux
Moderator: Richard Sousa
Complete Paper

12:00 NoonAdjourn (light lunch available)
Room 115, Lou Henry Hoover Building

Presenters, Discussants and Moderators

Jonathan Barnett—Professor of law and director, Media, Entertainment and Technology Law Program, Gould School of Law, University of Southern California

Richard Epstein—Peter and Kirsten Bedford Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University; Laurence A. Tisch Professor of Law, New York University Law School; senior lecturer, University of Chicago Law School; member, Hoover IP2 Steering Committee

Alexander Galetovic—Professor of economics, Universidad de los Andes, Santiago, Chile; visiting fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University

Kirti Gupta—Director for Economic Strategy, Qualcomm Inc.

Stephen Haber—Peter and Helen Bing Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution; A.A. and Jeanne Welch Milligan Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences, professor of political science, of history, and (by courtesy) of economics, Stanford University; director, Hoover IP²

Christian Helmers—Assistant professor, Leavey School of Business, Santa Clara University

Elizabeth Hoffman—Professor of economics, Iowa State University; senior distinguished fellow, Searle Center on Law, Regulation and Economic Growth, Northwestern University; president emerita, University of Colorado System

Shawn Kantor—L. Charles Hilton Jr. Distinguished Professor of Economic Prosperity and Individual Opportunity, Florida State University; research associate, National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

F. Scott Kieff—Senior fellow, Hoover Institution; Fred C. Stevenson Research Professor, George Washington University Law School; commissioner, US International Trade Commission (2013–2017); member, Hoover IP2 Steering Committee

Benjamin Kwitek—President and CEO, InterForm Incorporated; instructor of entrepreneurship, Bachelor of Innovation Program, University of Colorado-Colorado Springs; member, Hoover IP2 Advisory Board

Naomi Lamoreaux—Stanley B. Resor Professor of Economics and History and chair, Department of History, Yale University; research associate, NBER; member, Hoover IP2 Steering Committee

Ron Laurie—Cofounder and managing director, Inflexion Point Strategy, LLC; director, WiLAN, Inc.; member, Hoover IP² Advisory Board

Ross Levine—Willis H. Booth Chair in Banking and Finance, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley; research associate, NBER; member, Hoover IP² Steering Committee

Alan Marco—Associate professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology

Damon Matteo—CEO, Fulcrum Strategy; member of the Board, Tsinghua University (Beijing) Law School, Center for Intellectual Property Law; member, Hoover IP² Advisory Board

Kayvan Bakhtiari Noroozi—Principal, Noroozi PC; president and CEO, Koios Pharmaceuticals

Lisa Ouellette—Associate professor, Stanford Law School

Irving Rappaport—Managing director, IP Checkups, Inc.

David Schwartz—Stanford Clinton Sr. and Zylpha Kilbride Clinton Research Professor of Law, Pritzker School of Law, Northwestern University

Gregory Sidak—Founder and chairman, Criteron Economics, LLC

Jeremy Skog—Vice president, Criteron Economics, LLC

Richard Sousa—Research fellow, Hoover Institution; member, Hoover IP² Steering Committee

Matthew L. Spitzer—Howard and Elizabeth Chapman Professor of Law and director, Searle Center on Law, Regulation, and Economic Growth, Pritzker School of Law, Northwestern University

Eric Talley—Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law, Columbia Law School

Ali Torabi—Director of Corporate Development, Solar Junction Corporation

Adam Ullman—President, CEO, and general counsel, Shoe Care Innovations, Inc.; consultant, IP strategy, product development and commercialization, PDCIP, LLC

Seth Werfel—PhD student, department of political science, Stanford University

Alexander Whalley—Associate professor, department of economics, University of Calgary

Upcoming Events