Hoover Institution fellow Edward Lazear named to president's tax reform panel

Tuesday, January 18, 2005

Edward P. Lazear, the Morris Arnold Cox Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution, on January 7 was named to President George W. Bush's new advisory Tax Reform Panel.

Lazear also is the Jack Steele Parker Professor of Human Resources, Management and Economics at Stanford University's Graduate School of Business.

The new panel was created to study and submit to the U.S. secretary of the treasury a report on revenue- neutral policy options for reforming the Federal Internal Revenue Code. Its report is expected to be submitted by July 31, 2005.

Cochairs of the nine-member tax reform panel are former U.S. senators Connie Mack (R-Florida) and John Breaux (D-Louisiana).

Other members of the advisory Tax Reform Panel are former U.S. representative Bill Frenzel (R-Minnesota), now at the Brookings Institution; Elizabeth Garrett, law professor, University of Southern California; Timothy Muris, a former chairman of the Federal Trade Commission, now professor at George Mason School of Law; James Poterba, economics professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Charles Rossotti, former Internal Revenue Service commissioner, now a senior adviser with the Carlyle Group; and Liz Ann Sonders, chief investment strategist at Charles Schwab.