Hoover Institution’s John Taylor Receives The 2016 Adam Smith Award

Thursday, April 7, 2016
John B. Taylor is the George P. Shultz Senior Fellow in Economics at Hoover
Image credit: 
John LeSchofs, Stanford Visual Arts

The Hoover Institution announced today that John B. Taylor, the George P. Shultz Senior Fellow in Economics at the Hoover Institution and the Mary and Robert Raymond Professor of Economics at Stanford, has been given the 2016 Adam Smith Award by the Association of Private Enterprise Education. 

“I have long admired the Association of Private Enterprise Education,” stated Taylor.  “It’s always a privilege to have your work recognized, but it’s a true honor to be given this distinguished award.”

Taylor was honored on Sunday, April 3, 2016, at the opening dinner of the association’s annual conference in Las Vegas. His acceptance speech was entitled “Keep On Revealing the Invisible Hand through Education.”  The Association of Private Enterprise Education (APEE) is a group of teachers and scholars from colleges and universities, public policy institutes, and industry with an interest in studying and supporting the system of private enterprise.

“Taylor has worked tirelessly to advance free market principles,” concluded Tom Gilligan, the Director of the Hoover Institution. “And his research has had meaningful impact on economic policy. We applaud those who continue to recognize his important work.”

The Adam Smith Award is the highest honor bestowed by the APEE to recognize an individual who has made a sustained and lasting contribution to the perpetuation of the ideals of a free market economy as first laid out in Adam Smith’s Wealth of Nations. The recipient is a person who has acquired an international reputation as an eloquent scholar and advocate of free enterprise and the system of entrepreneurship that underlies it. In searching for a recipient, APEE looks for someone who, through their writing, speaking, and professional life, has focused attention on the fundamental principles that are the bulwark of its organization.

Previous Adam Smith Award recipients include Nobel Prize winners Douglass North, Vernon Smith, James Buchanan and Elinor Ostrom, as well as other distinguished economists including Allan Meltzer, Robert Barro, Alan Greenspan, Walter Williams, Murray Weidenbaum, and William Easterly.

About the Hoover Institution:  The Hoover Institution, Stanford University, is a public policy research center devoted to the advanced study of economics, politics, history, and political economy—both domestic and foreign—as well as international affairs. With its eminent scholars and world-renowned Library & Archives, the Hoover Institution seeks to improve the human condition by advancing ideas that promote economic opportunity and prosperity and secure and safeguard peace for America and all mankind.

CONTACT INFORMATION: Jenny Mayfield | Office of Public Affairs | Hoover Institution jennymayfield [at] stanford.edu | 650-723-0603