Hoover Fellow John Taylor Wins Truman Award for Economic Policy

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

John B. Taylor, the George P. Shultz Senior Fellow in Economics at the Hoover Institution and the Mary and Robert Raymond Professor of Economics at Stanford University, won the 2015 Truman Award for Economic Policy. He chairs the Hoover Working Group on Economic Policy and is director of Stanford’s Introductory Economics Center. Taylor is the sixth person and third Hoover fellow to receive the Truman Medal for Economic Policy, joining Alan Greenspan (2005), George Shultz (2007), Paul Volcker (2009), Allan Meltzer (2011), and Alice Rivlin (2013).

Awarded every two years to recipients chosen by a committee established by the sponsoring organizations, which include the Harry S. Truman Library Institute, the Henry W. Bloch School of Management at the University of Missouri–Kansas City, the Economic Club of Kansas City, and the Missouri Council on Economic Education, the Truman Medal recognizes Taylor’s career as an educator, economic policy developer, and public servant. Taylor is probably best known for his research on monetary policy, including the well-known Taylor Rule, which is used by central banks, economists, and policymakers, throughout the world.

For further information about the award, see Truman Medal for Economic Policy; for further information about Taylor's ideas for stable monetary policies, see Taylor’s blog.